Martin Nevin

Bassist, Composer, Educator

Martin Nevin is a composer and double bassist originally from Los Angeles. In 2006, Martin received a scholarship to attend Manhattan School of Music, where he studied bass with Jay Anderson and David Grossman, and composition with Michael Patterson. Since then he has performed and/or recorded with notable artists such as Albert “Tootie” Heath, Billy Hart, Greg Osby, Jason Moran, Ambrose Akinmusire, Ethan Iverson,  and Aaron Parks, in venues across the U.S and abroad.  In May 2017, Martin earned a Masters degree from Columbia University in Music Education. In November 2017, Martin was awarded a grant by the Jerome Fund for New Music, awarded by the American Composers Forum. For the grant he will be composing a song cycle, entitled Scratch at the Same table, based on the poetry of Jonathan C. Creasy.

Martin leads his own quintet whose debut record Tenderness is Silent was recently released. It features 11 original compositions.



Selected Discography:

As a leader: Tenderness is Silent (2018)

As a co-leader:

Constant Stranger (Fresh Sounds, 2018)

Sketches: Vol. 2 (BJUR records, 2014)

SketchesL Vol. 1 (BaldHill records, 2013)

(more info at

As a sideman:

Ben Flocks: Mask of the Muse (2019)

Sam Harris: HARMONY (2018)

Richard Sears: Iron Year (2018)

Timo Vollbrecht and Fly Magic: Faces Places (Berthold Records, 2018)

Pawan Benjamin: Tinte Baja (2018)

LeBoeuf Brothers: Imaginist (2016)

Richard Sears Trio: Skyline (Fresh Sounds Records, 2015)

Matt Marantz Quartet: Soliloquy (2015)

Sam Harris: Interludes (Fresh Sounds Records, 2013)

Richard Sears Trio: Vol. 1 (2013)

Matt Marantz: Offering (2010)